State guide · Alaska
Alaska rafting trips: glaciers, the Arctic and the Copper
Seven wilderness rivers, from Glacier Bay to the Arctic coast, with every outfitter we found side by side.
7 to 14 days / 6 to 13 nightsQuick answer
Alaska rafting trips are long wilderness expeditions, mostly 8 to 13 days. On the rivers we compare, outfitters run the Tatshenshini and Alsek from Canada to Glacier Bay, the Kongakut, Hulahula and Canning in the Arctic Refuge, the Noatak in Gates of the Arctic and the Copper River. Prices start at $3,050 and many include bush flights.
Trips by river
Alaska rivers with guided trips
Each card links to its outfitter table below.
10 to 13 days / 8 to 12 nights
Yukon, BC and Alaska · Glacier Bay NP
Tatshenshini River
From $5,000per person with Wilderness River Outfitters: Low end of a range; year and per person basis not stated; Dry Bay to Yakutat flight included. Checked Oct 2026. Confirm when booking.
12 to 13 days / 11 to 12 nights
Yukon and Alaska · Kluane NP to Glacier Bay
Alsek River
From $6,000per person with Wilderness River Outfitters: Listed as $6,000 to $7,000, year not shown; helicopter portage and Yakutat flight are part of the trip. Checked Oct 2026. Confirm when booking.

Alaska · Arctic National Wildlife Refuge
Kongakut River
From $9,500per person with Arctic Wild: 2027, per person not stated; Fairbanks airfare included. Checked Oct 2026. Confirm when booking.

Alaska · Arctic National Wildlife Refuge
Hulahula River
From $9,200per person with Arctic Wild: Raft and hike trip, 2027; Fairbanks flights included. Checked Oct 2026. Confirm when booking.

Alaska · Arctic National Wildlife Refuge
Canning River
From $7,950per person with Expeditions Alaska: Year not shown, per person not stated; air taxi from Coldfoot included. Checked Oct 2026. Confirm when booking.

Alaska · Gates of the Arctic and Noatak NP
Noatak River
From $5,500per person with Expeditions Alaska: Year not shown; air taxi included; 45 to 50 miles. Checked Oct 2026. Confirm when booking.
7 to 8 days / 6 to 7 nights
Alaska · Chitina to Cordova
Copper River
From $3,050per person with St. Elias Alpine Guides: 2026 rate for groups of 10 to 12; up to $6,415 for 3 people; Cordova lodge night included. Checked Oct 2026. Confirm when booking.
Each card shows the lowest listed price we found on that river for a guided overnight trip, from the outfitter's own site, with the trip and conditions behind it. Prices checked September and October 2026. Confirm when booking.
Side by side
The Alaska rivers side by side
| River | Trip length | Whitewater | Season | Private permit | Outfitters | From |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tatshenshini River | 10 to 13 days, 8 to 12 nights | Class III in a 6 mile canyon, IV at high water; the rest mostly Class II, per the NPS | June to September | Glacier Bay allows one trip a day at Dry Bay; private and commercial share peak dates | 7 | $5,000 |
| Alsek River | 12 to 13 days, 11 to 12 nights | Class III to IV above Turnback Canyon (BC Parks says III, the NPS says IV) | June to August | Kluane allows one departure every other day; Glacier Bay issues the Dry Bay permit | 5 | $6,000 |
| Kongakut River | 9 to 13 days, 8 to 12 nights | Mostly Class II with a 3 mile Class III canyon, per Arctic Wild | June and August | No permit for private trips; guided floats capped at 10 people, per the USFWS | 2 | $9,500 |
| Hulahula River | 8 to 14 days, 7 to 13 nights | Class III in the canyon, per Arctic Wild | June to August | No permit for private trips; guided floats capped at 10 people, per the USFWS | 2 | $9,200 |
| Canning River | 9 to 13 days, 8 to 12 nights | Whitewater class not confirmed | Late June to July | No permit for private trips; guided floats capped at 10 people, per the USFWS | 1 | $7,950 |
| Noatak River | 9 to 12 days, 8 to 11 nights | Easy to moderate, per the NPS | June to August | No permit for independent travelers; guides need an NPS authorization | 3 | $5,500 |
| Copper River | 7 to 8 days, 6 to 7 nights | Class II to III, per outfitters | June to August | Permit rules not confirmed | 2 | $3,050 |
Permits
One trip a day at Dry Bay
Glacier Bay National Park allows only one trip a day to arrive at Dry Bay, the take out for both the Tatshenshini and the Alsek. In peak season, private and commercial dates are scheduled in equal numbers, and private date requests are due December 13.
A guided trip uses the outfitter's commercial date, so you book a seat instead of requesting a permit. In the Arctic Refuge, private trips need no permit, but guided floats are capped at 10 people, guides included.
Sources: Glacier Bay river permits and Arctic Refuge guides.
Every outfitter
Every outfitter we found on Alaska's multi day rivers
Cheapest first on each river, from each outfitter's own site, checked October 2026. Canadian companies are marked and priced in Canadian dollars.
Tatshenshini River
Shäwshe (Dalton Post), Yukon, to Dry Bay, Alaska, 140 river miles, per the NPS and BC Parks. Class III in a 6 mile canyon, IV at high water; the rest mostly Class II, per the NPS. Starts in Canada and ends in Alaska, so bring a passport. Dry Bay has no road; trips end with a flight to Yakutat or Whitehorse. Source: NPS Glacier Bay river permits.
| Outfitter | Trip lengths | Boats | Season | Min age | From, per person | Check dates |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wilderness River Outfitters | 11 days, 10 nights | 16 ft oar rafts | July or August | Not listed | $5,000Low end of a range; year and per person basis not stated; Dry Bay to Yakutat flight included. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Wilderness River Outfitters |
| CRATE | 11 days, 10 nights | Not stated | Late June to August | 14 | $6,495Year not shown; flights from Dry Bay to Yakutat and Juneau and park fees included. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with CRATE |
| Chilkat Guides | 10 days, 8 camping nights | 18 ft rafts | June 5, July 3, August 15 | Not listed | $6,500Plus tax, year not shown; Dry Bay to Yakutat flight included. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Chilkat Guides |
| MT Sobek | 11 days, 10 nights | Rafts | June to August | 18 | $8,200Year not shown. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with MT Sobek |
| OARS | 13 days, 12 nights, 2 in hotels | Oar rafts | June to August, 2027 | 13 | $8,9952027; Dry Bay to Whitehorse flight and park fees included; 5% taxes and fees extra. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with OARS |
| Nahanni River Adventures (Canada) | 11 days, 10 nights | Oar rafts | June to August, 2027 | Not listed | $10,930 CADCanadian company, Canadian dollars, year not shown; plus park fee and 5% GST. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Nahanni River Adventures |
| Momentum River Expeditions | 12 days, 11 nights | Rafts | Not stated | Not listed | Price and dates not shown on the pages we could read; charter to Yakutat included. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Momentum River Expeditions |
Alsek River
Serpentine Creek in Kluane National Park to Dry Bay; Turnback Canyon is portaged by helicopter. Class III to IV above Turnback Canyon (BC Parks says III, the NPS says IV). Rated higher than the Tatshenshini above Turnback Canyon, with a helicopter portage around the canyon. Starts in Canada. Source: Parks Canada Alsek permits.
| Outfitter | Trip lengths | Boats | Season | Min age | From, per person | Check dates |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wilderness River Outfitters | 12 days, 11 nights | 16 ft oar rafts | July | Not listed | $6,000Listed as $6,000 to $7,000, year not shown; helicopter portage and Yakutat flight are part of the trip. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Wilderness River Outfitters |
| Chilkat Guides | 13 days, 12 camping nights and 1 hotel night | Rafts | July 21 | Not listed | $7,250Plus tax, year not shown; Dry Bay to Yakutat flight included. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Chilkat Guides |
| OARS | 12 days, 11 nights | Oar rafts | June to August, 2027 | 14 | $8,9752027; plus a $185 park fee and 5% taxes and fees; Dry Bay to Whitehorse flight included. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with OARS |
| MT Sobek | 13 days, 12 nights | Rafts | June to August | 18 | $9,585Year not shown. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with MT Sobek |
| Nahanni River Adventures (Canada) | 12 days, 11 nights | Rafts | June to August, 2027 | Not listed | $12,280 CADCanadian company, Canadian dollars; plus park fee and 5% GST. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Nahanni River Adventures |
Kongakut River
Gravel bars near Drain Creek to Caribou Pass or the Arctic coast. Mostly Class II with a 3 mile Class III canyon, per Arctic Wild. Fly in from Fairbanks via Arctic Village. Prices include the flights. Source: USFWS Arctic Refuge guides list.
| Outfitter | Trip lengths | Boats | Season | Min age | From, per person | Check dates |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arctic Wild | 9 days, 8 nights | Paddle rafts | August 18 to 26, 2027 | Not listed | $9,5002027, per person not stated; Fairbanks airfare included. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Arctic Wild |
| Rivers & Oceans | 11 days, 10 nights to 13 days, 12 nights | Paddle rafts, 4 guests each | June and August, 2027 | 10 | $9,850Listed as $9,850 to $11,400, year not shown; Fairbanks transport included. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Rivers & Oceans |
Hulahula River
Headwaters to the Arctic coast, with a fly out via Kaktovik. Class III in the canyon, per Arctic Wild. Runs to the Arctic coast, with a fly out via Kaktovik. Prices include flights from Fairbanks. Source: USFWS Arctic Refuge guides list.
| Outfitter | Trip lengths | Boats | Season | Min age | From, per person | Check dates |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arctic Wild | 8 days, 7 nights to 10 days, 9 nights | 4 person paddle rafts | June to August, 2027 | Not listed | $9,200Raft and hike trip, 2027; Fairbanks flights included. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Arctic Wild |
| MT Sobek | 14 days, 13 nights | Rafts | June | 18 | $11,990Year not shown; bush flights from Fairbanks included. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with MT Sobek |
Canning River
Marsh Fork headwaters to the coastal plain. Whitewater class not confirmed. One outfitter, with a packraft option. Its own pages give different trip lengths and miles. Source: USFWS Arctic Refuge guides list.
| Outfitter | Trip lengths | Boats | Season | Min age | From, per person | Check dates |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Expeditions Alaska | 10 days, 9 nights (its pages also say 9 and 13 days) | Rafts; packraft option | June 25 to July 5 and July 9 to 20, 2027 | Not listed | $7,950Year not shown, per person not stated; air taxi from Coldfoot included. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Expeditions Alaska |
Noatak River
65 miles in Gates of the Arctic, then 265 more through the Noatak preserve, per the NPS. Easy to moderate, per the NPS. Canoe and packraft trips through the Brooks Range. Prices include bush flights. Source: NPS Noatak River page.
| Outfitter | Trip lengths | Boats | Season | Min age | From, per person | Check dates |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Expeditions Alaska | 9 days, 8 nights, 3 to 4 on the river | Packrafts | June to August, 2027 | Not listed | $5,500Year not shown; air taxi included; 45 to 50 miles. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Expeditions Alaska |
| Arctic Wild | 11 days, 10 nights | Canoes | August 13 to 23, 2027 | Not listed | $9,6002027; Fairbanks airfare included; about 60 miles. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Arctic Wild |
| Alaska Alpine Adventures | 12 days, 11 nights | Inflatable canoes | 2028 dates to come | 14 | $9,895Year not shown; bush flights and a Kotzebue to Anchorage flight included. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Alaska Alpine Adventures |
Copper River
Chitina to Flag Point, with the last miles by road to Cordova. Class II to III, per outfitters. Trips start at Chitina, on the road system, so no bush flight is needed to reach the river.
| Outfitter | Trip lengths | Boats | Season | Min age | From, per person | Check dates |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| St. Elias Alpine Guides | 8 days, 7 nights | Not stated | June and July, 2026 and 2027 | 8 | $3,0502026 rate for groups of 10 to 12; up to $6,415 for 3 people; Cordova lodge night included. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with St. Elias Alpine Guides |
| McCarthy River Tours | 7 days, 6 nights | Not stated | June 21, July 12, August 23, 2026 | 10 | $4,1752026; transport to Chitina not included. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with McCarthy River Tours |
How to choose
How to choose an Alaska river
Glaciers or the Arctic?
The Tatshenshini and Alsek run past glaciers to Glacier Bay. The Kongakut, Hulahula and Canning cross the Arctic Refuge, and the Noatak the Brooks Range in Gates of the Arctic.
Week long rafting tripsHow much whitewater?
The Alsek is Class III to IV above Turnback Canyon, which is portaged by helicopter. The Tatshenshini has a Class III canyon, IV at high water. The Noatak is easy to moderate, per the Park Service.
Whitewater classes explainedWhat does the price include?
Read the notes: some include flights from Fairbanks or out of Dry Bay, and some add park fees and taxes. The Copper River trips start on the road system at Chitina.
Rafting trip costQuestions
Alaska rafting questions
Where can I go on a multi day rafting trip in Alaska?
On the rivers we compare: the Tatshenshini and Alsek, which start in Canada and end in Glacier Bay National Park; the Kongakut, Hulahula and Canning in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge; the Noatak in Gates of the Arctic; and the Copper River from Chitina toward Cordova.
How long is an Alaska rafting trip?
Most run 8 to 13 days. Tatshenshini trips run 10 to 13 days, Alsek trips 12 or 13, and Arctic Refuge trips 8 to 14. The Copper River runs 7 or 8 days.
How much does an Alaska rafting trip cost?
From $3,050 per person for a Copper River trip with St. Elias Alpine Guides (2026, groups of 10 to 12) to about $12,000 for the longest Arctic trips. US outfitters list Tatshenshini trips from $5,000 to $8,995, and Kongakut and Hulahula trips from $9,200 to $11,990. Many include bush flights; checked October 2026.
Do Alaska rafting trips include flights?
Often. Arctic Wild and Rivers & Oceans include flights from Fairbanks, and Tatshenshini outfitters include the flight out of Dry Bay to Yakutat or Whitehorse. Check each trip's notes in the tables above.
Do I need a passport for the Tatshenshini or Alsek?
Yes. Both start in Canada and end in Alaska, and the Park Service says trips must meet US and Canadian customs rules. OARS lists a passport as required.
Do I need a permit?
Not on a guided trip. Glacier Bay limits Dry Bay to one trip a day, with private and commercial trips sharing peak season dates. The Arctic Refuge needs no permit for private trips but caps guided floats at 10 people, guides included.
When is the Alaska rafting season?
June to August on most rivers. The Park Service puts the Tatshenshini's peak season at June 10 to September 17, and warns that early trips may meet ice on Alsek Lake.
Can kids go on an Alaska river trip?
On a few. St. Elias Alpine Guides takes kids from 8 on the Copper River, and Rivers & Oceans from 10 on the Kongakut. OARS sets 13 on the Tatshenshini, and MT Sobek sets 18 on all its Alaska trips.
Free download
Get the Overnight River Trip Planner
A packing list for river and camp, plus the lottery dates for the season in one calendar.
Keep planning
Related trips and guides
- Week long rafting tripsSix days or more
- What to packFrom outfitters' own lists
- River campingNights at camp
- Rafting trip costPrices on 19 rivers
- Montana overnight rafting tripsSmith and Flathead
- Idaho overnight rafting tripsThe Salmon rivers
- Best time to go raftingSeasons by river
- Trip finderFilter by state and month
- All outfittersEvery company, A to Z
- Plan a rafting tripEvery planning guide
Ready to book
Find your Alaska river
Pick a river, compare its outfitters, then check dates directly with the one you choose.