
State guide · Colorado
Colorado overnight rafting trips
Seven rivers, from Dinosaur's canyons to the Gunnison Gorge, with every outfitter we found side by side.
2 to 10 days / 1 to 9 nightsQuick answer
Colorado overnight rafting trips run on seven rivers we compare: the Gates of Lodore and the Yampa in Dinosaur National Monument, the Gunnison Gorge, the Arkansas through Browns Canyon, the Upper Colorado, Ruby-Horsethief Canyon and, in wet years, the Dolores. Trips run 2 days, 1 night to 10 days, from $299 per person.
Trips by river
Colorado rivers with overnight trips
Lodore and the Yampa have full river pages. For the others, each card links to its outfitter table below.

Colorado and Utah · Dinosaur
Gates of Lodore
From $1,149per person with Mild to Wild Rafting: 3 day, 2 night trip; year not shown. Checked Sep 2026. Confirm when booking.

Colorado and Utah · Dinosaur
Yampa River
From $1,279per person with Dinosaur River Expeditions: 4 day, 3 night trip; 2026 rate held for 2027; 8 guest minimum. Checked Sep 2026. Confirm when booking.
2 days / 1 night
Colorado · Gunnison Gorge NCA (BLM)
Gunnison Gorge
From $774per person with Wilderness Aware Rafting: Adult rate, year not shown; plus a 9% access fee; you carry your camp gear down the Chukar Trail. Checked Oct 2026. Confirm when booking.

Colorado · Dolores River (BLM)
Dolores River
From $809per person with Dvorak Expeditions: 3 day Ponderosa Gorge trip, 2026 schedule; government fees extra. Checked Oct 2026. Confirm when booking.
2 to 5 days / 1 to 4 nights
Colorado · Browns Canyon National Monument
Arkansas River, Browns Canyon
From $489per person with Dvorak Expeditions: 2 day trip, 2026 schedule; government fees of 5.25 to 8% extra; 6 person minimum. Checked Oct 2026. Confirm when booking.
2 days / 1 night
Colorado · Upper Colorado (BLM Kremmling)
Upper Colorado River
From $299per person with Adventures In Whitewater: Adult rate, year not shown; camp reached only by raft. Checked Oct 2026. Confirm when booking.

Colorado and Utah · McInnis Canyons NCA (BLM)
Ruby-Horsethief Canyon
From $579per person with Mild to Wild Rafting: 2 day adult rate, year not shown; plus a 9% fee; groups of 12 to 25 only. Checked Oct 2026. Confirm when booking.
Each card shows the lowest listed price we found on that river for a guided overnight trip, from the outfitter's own site, with the trip and conditions behind it. Prices checked September and October 2026. Confirm when booking.
Side by side
The Colorado rivers side by side
| River | Trip length | Whitewater | Season | Private permit | Outfitters | From |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gates of Lodore | 3 days, 2 nights to 5 days, 4 nights | Class III and IV rapids, per the Park Service | May to September, by outfitter | Lottery for private trips only | 7 | $1,149 |
| Yampa River | 4 days, 3 nights to 5 days, 4 nights | Up to Class IV, per the Park Service | May to early July, by outfitter | Lottery for private trips only | 7 | $1,279 |
| Gunnison Gorge | 2 days, 1 night | Class III to IV, per the BLM river map | Late May to September | BLM wilderness permit at the trailhead; no lottery | 3 | $774 |
| Dolores River | 2 to 10 days, 1 to 9 nights | Flatwater to Class IV, per the BLM | Only in years with dam releases, generally mid April to mid June | Register at the launch; no lottery | 4 | $809 |
| Arkansas River, Browns Canyon | 2 to 5 days, 1 to 4 nights | Class III, per American Whitewater | May to September | Colorado parks pass; no float permit or lottery | 4 | $489 |
| Upper Colorado River | 2 days, 1 night | Class I to II, III at high water, per outfitters | May to September | BLM day use fee at Pumphouse, Radium and State Bridge; no lottery | 3 | $299 |
| Ruby-Horsethief Canyon | 2 to 3 days, 1 to 2 nights | Class I to II, per the BLM | April to September | Camping reservation on Recreation.gov all year; no lottery | 1 | $579 |
The no lottery way in
Lodore and the Yampa: skip the Dinosaur lottery
Private trips on the Gates of Lodore and the Yampa need a permit from Dinosaur National Monument's high use lottery, which takes applications December 1 to January 31. On the Yampa, the lottery season covers nearly the whole runnable season.
Outfitters hold their own permits, so a guided trip books like any trip. Colorado's other overnight rivers have no lottery: the Gunnison Gorge needs a BLM wilderness permit from the trailhead, and Ruby-Horsethief camps are reserved on Recreation.gov.
Source: Dinosaur boating and rafting.
Every outfitter
Every outfitter we found on Colorado's other overnight rivers
Cheapest first on each river, from each outfitter's own site, checked October 2026. Lodore and Yampa outfitters are on their river pages.
Gunnison Gorge
Chukar Trail put in to the Gunnison Forks, 13.5 miles, per the BLM river map. Class III to IV, per the BLM river map. Every trip starts with a 1 mile hike down the Chukar Trail with your gear, or a horse packer. The BLM lists seven outfitters authorized in the Gorge. Source: BLM Gunnison Gorge visitor guide.
| Outfitter | Trip lengths | Boats | Season | Min age | From, per person | Check dates |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wilderness Aware Rafting | 2 days, 1 night | Not stated | Limited dates in July and August | 10 (higher at high water) | $774Adult rate, year not shown; plus a 9% access fee; you carry your camp gear down the Chukar Trail. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Wilderness Aware Rafting |
| Arkansas River Tours | 2 days, 1 night | Rafts, some paddling | Select dates, May to September | 8 | $1,449Year not shown. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Arkansas River Tours |
| Gunnison River Expeditions | 2 days, 1 night | Not stated | Not stated | Not listed | Price not shown on its trip page. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Gunnison River Expeditions |
Dolores River
Ponderosa Gorge, Slick Rock Canyon and Gateway, in a 102 mile stretch, per the BLM. Flatwater to Class IV, per the BLM. The BLM says boatable releases from McPhee Dam come only in some years, generally mid April to mid June. Outfitters ran no trips in 2026. Source: BLM Dolores River page.
| Outfitter | Trip lengths | Boats | Season | Min age | From, per person | Check dates |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dvorak Expeditions | 3 days, 2 nights to 8 days, 7 nights | Not stated | May to June | 10 | $8093 day Ponderosa Gorge trip, 2026 schedule; government fees extra. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Dvorak Expeditions |
| Wilderness Aware Rafting | 3 days, 2 nights to 10 days, 9 nights | Not stated | May to early June, water permitting | 10 | $8443 day Ponderosa Gorge trip, adult rate, year not shown; plus a 9% fee. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Wilderness Aware Rafting |
| Echo Canyon River Expeditions | 3 days, 2 nights to 6 days, 5 nights | Not stated | Runs only rarely | 6 suggested | $9903 day trip, year not shown; page last updated October 2024. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Echo Canyon River Expeditions |
| Mild to Wild Rafting | 2 days, 1 night to 6 days, 5 nights | Not stated | May to June | 7 | Price on inquiry; no 2026 trips because of water levels. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Mild to Wild Rafting |
Arkansas River, Browns Canyon
Fisherman's Bridge to Stone Bridge, 13 miles, per American Whitewater. Class III, per American Whitewater. Camps in the monument are reached by boat and first come, first served. Several outfitters add the Numbers, Bighorn Sheep Canyon or the Royal Gorge for 3 to 5 day trips. Source: American Whitewater on Browns Canyon.
| Outfitter | Trip lengths | Boats | Season | Min age | From, per person | Check dates |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dvorak Expeditions | 2 days, 1 night to 4 days, 3 nights | Not stated | May to September | 10 (13 in June) | $4892 day trip, 2026 schedule; government fees of 5.25 to 8% extra; 6 person minimum. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Dvorak Expeditions |
| Arkansas River Tours | 2 days, 1 night to 3 days, 2 nights | Not stated | May 1 to June 30, select July dates | 14 | $4992 day trip, year not shown; camps at a private campground in Cotopaxi. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Arkansas River Tours |
| Mild to Wild Rafting | 2 days, 1 night to 3 days, 2 nights | Not stated | May to September | 7 (and 50 pounds) | $5492 day trip with a river camp in the canyon, year not shown; plus a 9% fee. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Mild to Wild Rafting |
| Wilderness Aware Rafting | 2 days, 1 night to 5 days, 4 nights | Not stated | Not stated | 8 | $5492 day Narrows and Browns trip, adult rate, year not shown; plus a 9% fee. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Wilderness Aware Rafting |
Upper Colorado River
About 14 miles through Lower Gore and Red Gorge canyons to State Bridge, per Mild to Wild. Class I to II, III at high water, per outfitters. Gentle water and low minimum ages make this a short family overnight. We found no agency river miles or class rating. Source: BLM State Bridge page.
| Outfitter | Trip lengths | Boats | Season | Min age | From, per person | Check dates |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adventures In Whitewater | 2 days, 1 night | Not stated | June 15 to September 15 | Not listed | $299Adult rate, year not shown; camp reached only by raft. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Adventures In Whitewater |
| Wilderness Aware Rafting | 2 days, 1 night | Not stated | May 29 to Labor Day | 4 | $569Adult rate, year not shown; plus a 9% fee. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Wilderness Aware Rafting |
| Mild to Wild Rafting | 2 days, 1 night | Not stated | May to September | 4 (35 pounds) | $599Adult rate, year not shown; plus a 9% fee. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Mild to Wild Rafting |
Ruby-Horsethief Canyon
Loma to the Westwater ranger station, about 25 miles, per the BLM. Class I to II, per the BLM. It sits on the Colorado River just above Westwater Canyon. The one outfitter we confirmed runs custom trips for groups of 12 to 25. Source: Recreation.gov Ruby-Horsethief permit.
| Outfitter | Trip lengths | Boats | Season | Min age | From, per person | Check dates |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mild to Wild Rafting | 2 days, 1 night to 3 days, 2 nights | Not stated | April to September | Not listed | $5792 day adult rate, year not shown; plus a 9% fee; groups of 12 to 25 only. Checked Oct 2026 | See dates with Mild to Wild Rafting |
How to choose
How to choose a Colorado river
How much whitewater?
The Gunnison Gorge, Lodore and the Yampa have Class III and IV rapids. Browns Canyon is Class III. The Upper Colorado and Ruby-Horsethief are Class I to II.
Whitewater classes explainedBringing kids?
The Upper Colorado takes kids from 4 with two outfitters. Lodore outfitters take kids from about 6 to 7, and Browns Canyon from 7.
Family rafting tripsHow many nights?
Most Colorado trips are 2 days, 1 night. Lodore runs 3 to 5 days, the Yampa 4 or 5, and the Dolores up to 10 in wet years.
2 day rafting tripsQuestions
Colorado overnight rafting questions
Where can I go on an overnight rafting trip in Colorado?
On the rivers we compare: the Gates of Lodore and the Yampa in Dinosaur National Monument, the Gunnison Gorge, the Arkansas through Browns Canyon, the Upper Colorado, Ruby-Horsethief Canyon and, in years with dam releases, the Dolores.
What is the cheapest overnight rafting trip in Colorado?
The lowest listed price we found is $299 per person for Adventures In Whitewater's 2 day, 1 night Upper Colorado trip (year not shown). Browns Canyon overnights start at $489 with Dvorak (2026 schedule). Prices checked October 2026.
Which Colorado river has the biggest whitewater on an overnight trip?
The Gunnison Gorge (Class III to IV, per the BLM), the Gates of Lodore (Class III and IV rapids, per the Park Service) and the Yampa (up to Class IV). The Dolores reaches Class IV, but runs only in some years.
Can kids go on an overnight rafting trip in Colorado?
Yes. Mild to Wild and Wilderness Aware take kids from 4 on the Upper Colorado. Browns Canyon trips start at 7 to 14 by outfitter, and the Gunnison Gorge at 8 to 10.
Do I need a permit to raft in Colorado?
Not on a guided trip. Private trips on the Gates of Lodore and the Yampa need a Dinosaur National Monument lottery permit in the high use season. The Gunnison Gorge needs a BLM wilderness permit bought at the trailhead, and Ruby-Horsethief camps are reserved on Recreation.gov.
Why don't outfitters run the Dolores every year?
The BLM says boatable releases from McPhee Dam happen only in some years, generally mid April to mid June. Outfitters ran no Dolores trips in 2026.
What is it like to raft the Gunnison Gorge?
Every trip starts with a 1 mile hike down the Chukar Trail with your gear, or a horse packer, according to the BLM. The run is 13.5 miles of Class III to IV water in a deep canyon, with camps first come, first served.
When is the Colorado rafting season?
Late May to September on most rivers. The Yampa runs only from May to early July, and the Dolores only in wet springs. See when to go rafting.
Free download
Get the Overnight River Trip Planner
A packing list for river and camp, plus the lottery dates for the season in one calendar.
Keep planning
Related trips and guides
- Gates of Lodore rafting tripsEvery outfitter compared
- Yampa River rafting tripsA short spring season
- Utah overnight rafting tripsWestwater, Desolation, Cataract
- 2 day rafting tripsOne night on the river
- Family rafting tripsRivers that take kids
- Whitewater camping tripsClass IV and V rivers
- River permit lotteriesThe Dinosaur lottery
- Trip finderFilter by state and month
- All outfittersEvery company, A to Z
- Plan a rafting tripEvery planning guide
Ready to book
Find your Colorado river
Pick a river, compare its outfitters, then check dates directly with the one you choose.