Colorado River curving in a tight horseshoe around a red sandstone butte, seen from the canyon rim.
Horseshoe Bend on the Colorado River near Page, Arizona, upstream of where Grand Canyon river trips launch.

State guide · Arizona

Arizona overnight rafting trips

The Grand Canyon, plus two spring rivers most visitors never hear about, with every outfitter side by side.

2 to 18 days / 1 to 17 nights
Rivers compared
3
Outfitters
18
Shortest trips
2 days, 1 night, Upper Salt
Longest
18 days, Grand Canyon
Lowest listed
$539, Upper Salt
Private lotteries
Grand Canyon, Upper Salt

Quick answer

Arizona overnight rafting trips run on three rivers we compare: the Grand Canyon, from 3 to 18 days; the Upper Salt River, a spring run through the Salt River Canyon Wilderness with 2 to 5 day trips from $539; and the Gila Box, a gentle 3 to 5 day float. Both the Grand Canyon and the Upper Salt use lotteries for private permits.

Trips by river

Arizona rivers with overnight trips

The Grand Canyon has its own page. For the Salt and the Gila, each card links to its outfitter table below.

Still, clear green water reflecting clouds between tall layered red rock cliffs, with a distant butte under blue sky. 3 to 18 days / 2 to 17 nights

Arizona · Colorado River

Grand Canyon

Class III to IVLottery
Season
Apr to Oct
Min age
From 8
Outfitters
13

From $1,775per person with Arizona River Runners: Low end of the range on its site. Checked Sep 2026. Confirm when booking.

Still water between steep, rocky canyon walls under heavy gray storm clouds, with boulders in the foreground. 2 to 5 days / 1 to 4 nights

Arizona · Salt River Canyon Wilderness (Tonto NF)

Upper Salt River

Class III to IVLottery
Season
March to May, in years with snowmelt
Min age
From 8
Outfitters
4

From $539per person with Wilderness Aware Rafting: 2 day adult rate, year not shown; plus a 9% fee; 5 day trip $1,214. Checked Oct 2026. Confirm when booking.

Two paddlers in sun hats in a loaded aluminum canoe on a wide brown river below a red and gray canyon slope. 3 to 5 days / 2 to 4 nights

Arizona · Gila Box Riparian NCA (BLM)

Gila River, Gila Box

Class IINo lottery
Season
February to April, September to October
Min age
From 8
Outfitters
1

From $699per person with Far Flung Adventures: 3 day adult rate, year not shown; the page also mentions 2023 dates. Checked Oct 2026. Confirm when booking.

Each card shows the lowest listed price we found on that river for a guided overnight trip, from the outfitter's own site, with the trip and conditions behind it. Prices checked September and October 2026. Confirm when booking.

Side by side

The Arizona rivers side by side

Arizona overnight rafting rivers with trip length in days and nights, whitewater class, season, private permit system, number of outfitters and lowest listed price
RiverTrip lengthWhitewaterSeasonPrivate permitOutfittersFrom
Grand Canyon3 days, 2 nights to 18 days, 17 nightsClass III to IV, per American WhitewaterApril to October, by outfitterWeighted lottery for private trips only13$1,775
Upper Salt River2 to 5 days, 1 to 4 nightsClass III to IV, per Recreation.govMarch to May, in years with snowmeltLottery for private permits, March 1 to May 15 launches; applications December 1 to January 314$539
Gila River, Gila Box3 to 5 days, 2 to 4 nightsEasy to moderately difficult, per the BLMFebruary to April, September to OctoberFloaters pay a BLM permit fee; no lottery1$699

The no lottery way in

Two lotteries, one way around both

Private Grand Canyon trips go through the park's weighted lottery, with applications in February. Private Upper Salt trips from March 1 to May 15 go through a Recreation.gov lottery that takes applications December 1 to January 31.

Outfitters hold their own permits on both rivers, so a guided trip books like any trip. Grand Canyon National Park says commercial trips are often reserved a year or two in advance.

Sources: Grand Canyon weighted lottery and Recreation.gov Salt River permit.

52.3 miles of Upper Salt from First Campground to the Highway 288 bridge, per Recreation.gov.

Every outfitter

Every outfitter we found on the Upper Salt and the Gila Box

Cheapest first on each river, from each outfitter's own site, checked October 2026. Grand Canyon outfitters are on the Grand Canyon page.

Upper Salt River

First Campground to the Highway 288 bridge, 52.3 miles; a tribal permit covers about 29 miles on the Fort Apache Reservation, per Recreation.gov. Class III to IV, per Recreation.gov. A short spring season. Private trips need a lottery permit for March 1 to May 15; guided trips book directly. Outfitters add a White Mountain Apache tribal fee. Source: Recreation.gov Salt River permit.

Outfitters running overnight trips on the Upper Salt River: trip lengths in days and nights, boats, season, minimum age and lowest listed price
OutfitterTrip lengthsBoatsSeasonMin ageFrom, per personCheck dates
Wilderness Aware Rafting2 days, 1 night to 5 days, 4 nightsRafts with a gear boatMarch to April, water permitting10$5392 day adult rate, year not shown; plus a 9% fee; 5 day trip $1,214. Checked Oct 2026See dates with Wilderness Aware Rafting
Mild to Wild Rafting2 days, 1 night to 5 days, 4 nights15 ft rafts, paddle or oarMarch to early May8 at low water, 12 at high water (2 day)$7492 day adult rate, year not shown; plus a 9% fee and a $60 Apache tribal fee. Checked Oct 2026See dates with Mild to Wild Rafting
Salt River Rafting3 days, 2 nights to 5 days, 4 nightsNot statedMarch to May10 (over 50 pounds)$8503 day trip, year not shown; plus a $60 Apache use fee and a river and land use fee. Checked Oct 2026See dates with Salt River Rafting
Momentum River Expeditions4 days, 3 nights to 5 days, 4 nightsNot statedMid March to late April12$1,940Listed as $1,940 to $2,100, year not shown; transport from Phoenix included. Checked Oct 2026See dates with Momentum River Expeditions

Gila River, Gila Box

Gila River boat put in to the Dry Canyon take out, 23 miles, per the BLM. Easy to moderately difficult, per the BLM. A gentle spring and fall float. The one outfitter we found still mentions 2023 dates on its page, so confirm. Source: BLM Gila River boat put in.

Outfitters running overnight trips on the Gila River, Gila Box: trip lengths in days and nights, boats, season, minimum age and lowest listed price
OutfitterTrip lengthsBoatsSeasonMin ageFrom, per personCheck dates
Far Flung Adventures3 days, 2 nights to 5 days, 4 nightsInflatable kayaks, canoes and oar raftsFebruary to April, September to October8$6993 day adult rate, year not shown; the page also mentions 2023 dates. Checked Oct 2026See dates with Far Flung Adventures

How to choose

How to choose an Arizona river

A week or a weekend?

Grand Canyon trips run 3 to 18 days. The Upper Salt runs 2 to 5 days, and the Gila Box 3 to 5.

Grand Canyon motor vs oar

When can you go?

The Upper Salt runs only in spring, from about March to May. The Gila Box runs in spring and fall, and the Grand Canyon April to October.

Best time to go rafting

How much whitewater?

The Upper Salt is Class III to IV, per Recreation.gov. The Gila Box is easy to moderate, per the BLM, and runs on inflatable kayaks and canoes as well as rafts.

Whitewater classes explained

Questions

Arizona overnight rafting questions

Where can I go on an overnight rafting trip in Arizona?

On the rivers we compare: the Grand Canyon, the Upper Salt River in the Salt River Canyon Wilderness, and the Gila Box on the Gila River. Mild to Wild lists a 2 day Verde River trip but says it is not running the Verde this season.

Is there rafting in Arizona besides the Grand Canyon?

Yes. The Upper Salt runs 52.3 miles of Class III to IV water through the Salt River Canyon Wilderness in spring, per Recreation.gov, and four outfitters run 2 to 5 day trips. The Gila Box is a gentle float of 23 miles, per the BLM.

When can you raft the Upper Salt?

In spring, in years with snowmelt. Private permits cover March 1 to May 15, and outfitters list trips from March to April or May. The Forest Service says the river can reach flood stage in hours.

Do I need a permit to raft the Salt River?

Not on a guided trip. Private trips from March 1 to May 15 need a permit from the Recreation.gov lottery, with applications December 1 to January 31. A White Mountain Apache Tribe permit covers about 29 miles on the Fort Apache Reservation; outfitters add a tribal fee.

How much does an Upper Salt rafting trip cost?

From $539 for Wilderness Aware's 2 day, 1 night trip and $749 with Mild to Wild, to $1,940 to $2,100 for Momentum's 4 or 5 day trip with transport from Phoenix. Years not shown; checked October 2026. Fees are extra on most.

How do I get on a Grand Canyon rafting trip?

Book a seat with one of the 13 outfitters on the park's concessioner list. The weighted lottery is for private trips. See Grand Canyon rafting trips and what they cost.

Can kids raft in Arizona?

Yes. Some Grand Canyon motor trips take kids from 8, Far Flung takes kids from 8 on the Gila Box, and Mild to Wild takes kids from 8 on its 2 day Salt trip at low water.

What is the Arizona rafting season?

The Upper Salt and the Gila Box run in spring, and the Gila Box again in fall. Grand Canyon trips run April to October. See when to go rafting.

Ready to book

Find your Arizona river

Pick a river, compare its outfitters, then check dates directly with the one you choose.